top of page
100842 CMC FF Image Opt1.jpg

Futuristic Folktales, a dance for hope, tells the momentous tale of the first womb, humbly attempting to unify humanity through the infinite narrative of birth. Using contemporary, breaking and Scottish Highland dance, this experimental dance theatre production questions the preservation of tradition, myth, and identity whilst scrutinising borders, body politics and reproductive injustice.

The performers share their folk story so far, inviting you to experience resistance as the work imitates the hostile environment of a womb. An environment where life and death coexist. Futuristic Folktales seeks to further dance as a form of political protest and a space for collective reckoning, otherwise, why dance?


5th April - The Space, Dundee BOOK HERE

11th, 12th, 13th April - Tojo Theatre, Bern 

18th April - The Place, London BOOK HERE

26th, 27th April - Tramway, Glasgow

Futuristic Folktales has been in creation since 2022 and has been supported by Creative Scotland, Stadt Bern, Kanton Bern, ProHelvetia, The Place, Schweizerische Interpretenstiftung SIS, Burgergemeinde Bern, Ursula Wirz Foundation, Tojo Theatre, The Space Dundee and Angus College, Dance Base, Dampfzentrale, Dansomètre, Sadlers Wells, Vakuum Bewegungsraum.

100842 CMC FF Image Opt2.jpg

Creative Team

Concept and Director: Charlotte Mclean (she/her)
Creative Producer: Helen McIntosh (she/her)

Writer: Nelly Kelly (they/them)

Composer: Malin Lewis (they/them) 

Lighting Designer & Production Manager: Emma Jones (she/her)

Costume Designer: Alison Brown (she/her)

Dramaturg: Rob Evans (he/him)

Performer: Astro Scheidegger (he/him)

Performer: Orrow Bell (they/them)

Technical Manager: Lynn Wiseman (she/her) 

PR: Storytelling PR (she/her)

PR (Switzerland): Camille Jamet (she/her) 

International Consultant: Nadja Dias (she/her)

Project Collaborators: Annable Cooper (she/her), Amarnah C Osajivbe-Amuldun (she/her), Chanai Bradley Fofanah (she/her), Domenico Angarano (he/him), Gina Lorenzen (she/her), Ichai Carre (he/him), Irodriel Costello (they/them), Kirsty Nicolson (they/them), Kate Hall (she/her), Lucy Suggate (she/her), Molly Scott Danter (they/them), Rebekka Hoelzle (she/her), Rhys Dennis (he/him), Sunniva Moen Rørvik (they/them)

bottom of page